Updates on the topic of ALS

Research results from Christopher SeckerChristopher Secker, press release April 2018

Development of a new method for the characterization and quantification of protein accumulation in ALS

“In approximately 95% of ALS patients, the protein TDP-43 is deposited in the brain and spinal cord regions affected by neurodegeneration. This protein is suspected to be significantly involved in the progress of ALS. In a research project, Christopher Secker has developed a new test method that can be used, among other things, to study the accumulation of the TDP-43 protein.”

Further information on the ALS research result

Information film - What is ALS

This film (only available in German) gives an insight into the causes of the symptoms of Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS). A film from the ALS and other motor neuron diseases outpatient clinic at the Charité with the support of the AVE Television Production Company.

Exoskeleton training video

In this film (only available in German), the ALS outpatient clinic at the CharitĂ© – Universitätsmedizin Berlin shows you how exoskeleton training works and what effect it brings the patients.

The Bremer ALS Foundation

For a curable amyotrophic lateral sclerosis

The Bremer ALS Foundation has committed itself to the urgent concern of making lasting contributions to the research on Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS). To implement the foundation’s goal, it supports scientific and medical projects with a broad range of content.
Common to all activities is the vision that in the future ALS can be stopped , reversed and cured in the long run, improving the quality of life of people with ALS.

READ MORE

Support

 

The Bremer ALS Foundation supports scientific and medical projects in the following areas:

Basic research

Investigation of the causes and mechanisms of disease

Therapy research

Development of medication and treatment methods

Health services research

Optimization of patient care

Award

Special scientific achievements honors the foundation with the

“Irmgard Marthiens Prize”

Projects

 

Medicinal cannabis and ALS

The Bremen ALS Foundation is sponsoring a scientific study on the therapeutic significance of medicinal cannabis in ALS, which is carried out by the Charité ALS outpatient unit.

ALS can cause a variety of symptoms and complaints. For some people with ALS, traditional medications cannot completely relieve the symptoms. In recent years, it has become apparent that medications containing cannabis can be an important addition to ALS treatment in this situation. So far, there are only a few systematic scientific studies on this topic.

READ MORE

Evaluation of respiratory care

The use of respiratory aids (mask respiration, invasive respiration, cough assistance) offers important treatment options for people with ALS in the advanced stages of the disease. Despite their great importance, however, there are still no guidelines on the optimal timing, intensity and technical equipment for respiratory care. Therefore, there are significant differences in the treatment of ALS patients with respiratory aids in Germany. First scientific evidence indicates that the modern possibilities of respiratory care are not fully utilized.

READ MORE

The founder

 

The Bremer ALS Foundation was founded in 2016 by Knut Marthiens, whose wife was affected by amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. He invites you to join him in supporting the cure for amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.
Knut Marthiens was born in 1941 in Berlin. He had a difficult childhood and developed a strong sense of human rights in young age. In 1959, his charitable nature got him a three-year sentence in the GDR state security prison in Berlin-Hohenschönhausen after his family fled the country. His strong character and absolute will to live helped him to survive those tough years.

After the the Federal Republic of Germany paid his ransom in 1964, Knut Marthiens succeeded in a quickly integrated into society. Soon after graduating in MBA, he held senior positions in HR and production management.

More information about the founder Knut Marthiens

Aktuelles zum Thema ALS

Forschungsergebnisse von Christopher Secker, Pressemitteilung April 2018

Entwicklung eines neuen Verfahrens zur Charakterisierung und Quantifizierung der Proteinakkumulation bei der ALS

„Bei ca. 95% der ALS-Patienten lagert sich in den von der Neurodegeneration betroffenen Hirn- und RĂŒckenmarksregionen das Protein TDP-43 ab. Dieses Protein steht im Verdacht am Fortschritt der ALS maßgeblich beteiligt zu sein. Christopher Secker hat in einem Forschungsprojekt ein neues Testverfahren entwickelt mit dessen Hilfe unter anderem die Ansammlung des TDP-43 Proteins untersucht werden kann.“

Weitere Informationen zu dem ALS-Forschungsergebnis

Infofilm - Was ist ALS

Dieser Film gibt einen Einblick in die Ursachen der Symptome der Amyotrophen Lateralsklerose (ALS).  Ein Film der Ambulanz fĂŒr ALS und andere Motoneuronenerkrankungen an der CharitĂ© mit UnterstĂŒtzung der  AVE Gesellschaft fĂŒr Fernsehproduktion.

Video Exoskelett-Training

Die ALS-Ambulanz an der CharitĂ© – UniversitĂ€tsmedizin Berlin zeigt Ihnen in diesem Film, wie ein Exoskelett-Training funktioniert und welche Wirkung es den Patienten bringt.

Die Bremer ALS Stiftung

FĂŒr eine heilbare Amyotrophe Lateralsklerose

Die Bremer ALS Stiftung hat sich dem dringenden Anliegen verpflichtet, nachhaltige BeitrĂ€ge zur Erforschung der Amyotrophen Lateralsklerose (ALS) zu leisten. Zur Umsetzung des Stiftungszwecks fördert sie wissenschaftliche und medizinische Projekte auf großer inhaltlicher Breite.
Allen AktivitĂ€ten gemein ist die Vision, die ALS in Zukunft aufhalten, rĂŒckgĂ€ngig machen und langfristig heilen zu können und die LebensqualitĂ€t von Menschen mit ALS zu verbessern.

WEITERLESEN

Förderung

 

Die Bremer ALS Stiftung fördert wissenschaftliche und medizinische Projekte in folgenden Bereichen:

Grundlagenforschung

Untersuchung der Krankheitsursachen und -mechanismen

Therapieforschung

Entwicklung von Medikamenten und Behandlungsverfahren

Versorgungsforschung

Optimierung der Patientenversorgung

Ehrung

Besondere wissenschaftliche Leistungen ehrt die Stiftung mit dem

„Irmgard Marthiens Preis“

Projekte

 

Cannabisarzneimittel bei der ALS

Die Bremer ALS-Stiftung fördert eine wissenschaftliche Studie ĂŒber die therapeutische Bedeutung von Cannabis-Arzneimitteln bei der ALS, die von der ALS-Ambulanz der CharitĂ© durchgefĂŒhrt wird.

Bei der ALS kann es zu vielfĂ€ltigen Symptomen und Beschwerden kommen. Bei einem Teil der Menschen mit ALS können traditionelle Medikamente die Beschwerden nicht vollstĂ€ndig lindern. In den zurĂŒckliegenden Jahren wurde erkennbar, dass cannabishaltige Medikamente in dieser Situation eine wichtige ErgĂ€nzung der ALS-Behandlung darstellen können. Bisher liegen nur wenige systematische wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen zu dieser Thematik vor.

WEITERLESEN

Evaluation Beatmungsversorgung

Der Einsatz von Atemhilfen (Maskenbeatmung, invasive Beatmung, Hustenassistent) bietet wichtige Therapieoptionen fĂŒr Menschen mit ALS im fortgeschrittenen Krankheitsverlauf. Trotz ihrer hohen Bedeutung liegen bisher jedoch noch keine Leitlinien ĂŒber den optimalen Zeitpunkt, die die IntensitĂ€t und die gerĂ€tetechnische Ausstattung der Beatmungsversorgung vor. Daher bestehen erhebliche Unterschiede in der Versorgung von ALS-Patienten mit Atemhilfen in Deutschland. Erste wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse deuten darauf hin, dass die modernen Möglichkeiten der Beatmungsversorgung nicht vollstĂ€ndig ausgeschöpft werden.

WEITERLESEN

Der Stifter

 

Die Bremer ALS Stiftung wurde 2016 von Knut Marthiens gegrĂŒndet, dessen Ehefrau von Amyotrophe Lateralsklerose betroffen war. Er lĂ€dt Sie dazu ein, mit ihm gemeinsam die Heilung der Amyotrophe Lateralsklerose  zu fördern.

Knut Marthiens wurde 1941 in Berlin geboren. Er durchlebte eine entbehrungsreiche Kindheit und entwickelte schon frĂŒh einen ausgeprĂ€gten Sinn fĂŒr Menschenrechte. Nach der Flucht der Familie 1959 brachte ihm seine Hilfsbereitschaft einen dreijĂ€hrigen Aufenthalt im GefĂ€ngnis der Staatssicherheit der „DDR“ in Berlin-Hohenschönhausen ein. CharakterstĂ€rke und absoluter Lebenswille halfen ihm, diese harten Jahre zu ĂŒberleben.

Nach dem Freikauf durch Bundesrepublik Deutschland 1964 gelang Knut Marthiens ein schneller Einstieg in die Gesellschaft. Bald nach seinem Abschluss als Betriebswirt bekleidete er leitende Stellungen im Personalwesen und als Produktionsleiter.

Weitere Informationen zum Stifter Knut Marthiens